Making my poster

Making my promotional poster was really fun. I learnt a lot about how to operate different platforms.

In the end I used Word, as none of the other platforms would do text, and paint wouldn’t size the paper to A4. I found Word very easy to use after I got used to it and experimented with it a bit. I have never used word to make pictures before, but everything was pretty self explanitory, so I didn’t even have to look anything up.

Here is my finished poster Final poster.PNG

Here are all the steps I took in making this poster:

  1. First I got the background picture and made sure that everything else showed up in front of it. I chose a grey background so that you could concentrate more on the text and centre of the poster. The wood grain print is not too busy, and also has a nice relaxed, natural, adult look.
  2. The next step was to put the large text banner at the top and choose the font and the colour of the banner. I chose a cursive font, Kunstler Script, and I chose brown so that it stood out slightly from the background without looking gaudy. I made the background colour for the banner a gradient and added shading to the inside just to give it some dimension and make it look less blockish and hard.
  3. I added the photos next. I chose pictures that had more brown tones than the rest of the poster so that your eye would be drawn to the middle of the poster. The photos are also very relevant to the poster, showing music and recorders.
  4. Next I made the upper text box. I made it the same colour as the banner, a greyish brown that was noticeable but not gaudy. This text box contained my blurb about my teaching services,  I used a different font than the cursive one for the title, which looked odd small. I used DilleniaUPC, which was quite boxy and reminded me of a typewriter font, it looked quite serious but also quite artistic. Again, I added a gradient and some shading to soften the text box’s look.
  5. Lastly I added the last text box. As before I used the grey-brown colour in a gradient and shaded the inside of the box. I used the same font as the first box of text (DilleniaUPC). This text box held all my contact details, by the way, the phone number that I have shown is a series of random digits that I made up.

One of the biggest problems with this poster is that it would be pretty expensive to print out lots of copies if I was to advertise this on a large scale due to the dark colours and the large amount of ink used. This could however be fixed by making it into a digital advertisement instead of a paper poster.

I really enjoyed this promotion project, I feel that I learnt a lot of new skills, particularly about using Word, but I also had to think a lot about different age groups and marketing, which was a very interesting experience.

Overall, I am quite happy with the look of my poster. I feel that it could look slightly more professional, but  I have no idea how to achieve that. I think that considering this was my first time using Word as a digital art program, I did pretty well.

Leave a comment